top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCorrieV

My Long Distance Relationship

Updated: Feb 24, 2018

Who else has (or ever had) a distance relationship? I have been gone only for a little over a month and starting to feel the strains of a long distance relationship.


I will be gone for another 4 months. Not that long. There are couples who are apart for far longer than this and they survive. And I knew it was going to be difficult, but I didn't think that there would be this endless longing....thinking of your other half throughout the day....and bringing them up in every conversation you have.


Luckily I have an impressively supportive boyfriend. And I love him for it every day. He told me that I should keep my mind busy and try to think of something else. Other wise I would want to pack my bags tomorrow and go back (he has some first hand experience with distance relationships). Judging by the way I feel at the moment -very emotional I might add- that sounds like a tempting option


It just feels like we are losing our touch. I am a person who needs touch. That is my love language. And not being able to be with him is slowly driving me crazy. I can't participate in his day. In his days' disappointments and highlights. And I want to share all my experiences with him as well. I miss him. We used to talk about everything and more when we were together. And now suddenly there is 9000 km distance between us and we have to adapt. I have to adapt. This is a first for me.


So, enough about the sob story. What am I going to do about it?


There are countless articles on how to make your long distance relationship work. And they hold some very important pointers. For example Keay Nigels' 21 Tips on Making a Long Distance Relationship work . I'm not a pro in this topic, yet, so do yourself a favour and read the linked article. If you don't know how to close that bridge gap you and your partner are facing, apply these methods. Try them. I know I am going to. Because if I don't find a way through this, I might end up losing the one person I love so much in this world.





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page