top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCorrieV

4 Pointers for Procrastinators

So, I did it!!!


Remember in my post "Procrastinator", we covered that people put off doing things because they aren't in the same mood as when they started out. And that you should just do it. Don't be your own victim.



When I finished writing that post, I was determined to "put my money where my -words- is." Yes, it took a little bit more convincing. I basically came back inside the house three times before I actually bought the ticket and climbed on the train. It sounds hectic. But guess what....I had an amazing time in London. I saw Tower Bridge, London Eye, Big Ben and took the Ferry back on River Thames.


I know how difficult it is to want to do something now. Being all excited about it, just to have the need watering off. It made me feel unmotivated. Unsuccessful. And most of the times I felt disappointed in myself. (Scary what your mood can do to you). I don't want you to keep being a victim of your own moods. So, i'm giving you guys a few pointers on keeping your intended schedule, even if you don't feel like it.


  • Re-live that moment that made you want to do the task in the first place. >>> When I know I have to ex. continue that free online course I signed up for... I think back to when I decided to sign up for the course. What was I feeling at that moment? And also...pointer 2:

  • Remind yourself what your motivation was. >>> For me, studying doesn't come easy. And probably not for a lot of you. So every time I know I have to study, I have to remind myself why I wanted to in the first place. It could be because you need that promotion and by doing the course, your boss will see the extra effort your willing to put in. Any reason that made you want to start in the first place. Try to remind yourself what that was. Trust me, I have had to do this for quite some time now and it works for me. But you need to be willing to put the time into it.

  • Rid your surroundings of anything that could influence your concentration >>> I know, you're probably thinking "I've heard this a million times" , but hey it works. Tried and tested by a lot of people! I usually need a clean space. I can't concentrate if it's untidy. My mind literally won't focus. So that is what I do. I clean everything up. You may need to make space in your schedule.

  • Make a list of your tasks >>> I can't emphasize enough how important this is. It has something to do with mental health -I need to read up on it. Make a physical list in your diary or a piece of paper you carry in your jeans. Mark off your tasks as you complete them, and you will be surprised how productive you would feel and in turn boost your confidence.

My advice for you is just try STARTING or FINISHING a task that you have put off with these 4 pointers. Maybe you'll surprise yourself. And be more that you were yesterday.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page